© 2000 Walter E. Gast
All rights reserved.

Copyright Information

Star (4-Pointed)
A four-pointed star is usually styled to resemble a cross and is used as the "star of Bethlehem" or "natal star." The cross shape reminds us both of Jesus' birth and the purpose for which He was born.

Season: Christmas

Star (5-Pointed)
The five-pointed star is the star of Bethlehem. Shaped roughly like a human being, it represents Jesus' incarnation.

The Christian five-pointed star should be distinguished from the pagan pentagram, which is formed of five lines which intersect. Most often shown upside down, the pentagram is associated with satanic ritual.

Num. 24:17 "I see him, but not now; I behold him, but not near. A star will come out of Jacob; a scepter will rise out of Israel. (NIV)

Matt. 2:1 After Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea, during the time of King Herod, Magi(n) from the east came to Jerusalem 2 and asked, "Where is the one who has been born king of the Jews? We saw his star in the east(n) and have come to worship him." (NIV)

Season: Advent, Epiphany

Star (6-Pointed)
The six-pointed star is the Creator's star. Its six points stand for the six days of creation. The points are also said to represent the six attributes of God - power, wisdom, majesty, love, mercy and justice. This star is also known today as the Star of David, and is a symbol of modern-day Israel. The six-pointed star is of ancient origin and is used in many religions with a variety of meanings.

Star (7-Pointed)
The seven-pointed star represents the seven gifts of the Spirit - wisdom, understanding, counsel, might, knowledge, fear of the Lord, and delight in the Lord.

Isa. 11:2 The Spirit of the LORD will rest on him - the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding, the Spirit of counsel and of power, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD - 3 and he will delight in the fear of the LORD. (NIV)

Star (8-Pointed)
Eight is traditionally the number of regeneration. (It is for this reason that many baptismal fonts have an octagonal base.) Jesus was circumcised and given his name when he was eight days old. Baptism is understood to be the New Testament equivalent of the covenant of circumcision.

Star (9-Pointed)
The nine-pointed star symbolizes the nine fruits of the Spirit listed in the Epistle to the Galatians. This star is sometimes shown with the Latin initials for each of the fruits (charitas, gaudium, pax, longanimitas, benignitas, bonitus, fides, mansuetudo and continentia) placed within the points.

Gal. 5:22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. (NIV)

Star (12-Pointed)
A twelve-pointed star may be used to represent the twelve tribes of Israel or the twelve apostles. It may also be used at Epiphany, the twelfth day of Christmas, on which the church celebrates the manifestation of Christ as the Son of God.

Stars & Orbs
Twelve stars surrounding a sun and moon represent Jacob and his wife and Jacob's 12 sons, who themselves became the fathers of the 12 tribes of Israel. Together they are an Old Testament type of the whole company of God's elect.