© 2000 Walter E. Gast
All rights reserved.

Copyright Information

The initial letters of the Greek phrase "Jesus Christ, Son of God, Savior" form the Greek word ICHTHUS, which means "fish." This symbol was used by believers in the early days of persecution as a secret sign of their shared faith. One person would draw an arc in the sand, and the other would complete the sign to show his brotherhood in Christ.

Fish (Three)
Three fish represent Jesus as a member of the Trinity.

Flag (Christian)
The Christian flag was designed by Charles Overton, a Sunday school superintendent at Brighton Chapel, Staten Island, in 1897. The red cross stands for the Christian faith, God's love for man and the promise of eternal life. The blue represents Christ's faithfulness unto death. The white ground signifies purity, innocence and peace.

Flame (Fire)
Tongues of flame, expecially when shown resting on the heads of the disciples, are symbolic of the Holy Spirit and His anointing and power. Fire is also symbolic of spiritual zeal. Flames may also represent the torments of hell. When a saint is portrayed holding a flame in his or her hand, it represents religious fervor.

Acts 2:1 When the day of Pentecost came, they were all together in one place. 2 Suddenly a sound like the blowing of a violent wind came from heaven and filled the whole house where they were sitting. 3 They saw what seemed to be tongues of fire that separated and came to rest on each of them. 4 All of them were filled with the Holy Spirit and began to speak in other tongues(n) as the Spirit enabled them. (NIV)

Matt. 25:41 "Then he will say to those on his left, 'Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. (NIV)

Luke 24:30 When he was at the table with them, he took bread, gave thanks, broke it and began to give it to them. 31 Then their eyes were opened and they recognized him, and he disappeared from their sight. 32 They asked each other, "Were not our hearts burning within us while he talked with us on the road and opened the Scriptures to us?" (NIV)

Season: Pentecost

Flame (Seven-Fold)
The seven-fold flame represents the seven gifts of the Spirit — wisdom, understanding, counsel, might, knowledge, fear of the Lord, and delight in the Lord.

Isa. 11:2 The Spirit of the LORD will rest on him - the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding, the Spirit of counsel and of power, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD - 3 and he will delight in the fear of the LORD. (NIV)

Season: Pentecost

Flaming Sword
A flaming sword is symbolic of judgment. It calls to mind the fiery sword and the angels that guarded the entrance to Paradise after Adam and Eve were expelled.

Gen. 3:24 After he drove the man out, he placed on the east side(n) of the Garden of Eden cherubim and a flaming sword flashing back and forth to guard the way to the tree of life.

The fleur-de-lis is a stylized representation of the lily, a symbol of purity, and so is a common reference to the Virgin Mary. The fleur-de-lis is also a symbol of royalty, made so by its adoption by kings of France. The triune representation of the fleur-de-lis has also led to its adoption as a symbol of the Trinity.

Season: Sundays after Pentecost

Click here for symbolism of various plants, trees and flowers.


The fountain, or well, is a reminder of Jesus, the Living Water. The ascription comes from the story of the woman at the well, whom Jesus asked for a drink. When she questioned why a Jew would ask a Samaritan for a drink, Jesus identified Himself as the source of living water.

John 4:13 Jesus answered, "Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life." (NIV)

Click here for explanations of various chancel furnishings.

(Baptismal font)